Betty a La Mode


Move Over Beyonce…
27 October, 2007, 12:52 am
Filed under: Affiliates, News, Site Updates, Spoilers, Ugly Betty

Last night, Episode 5 ‘A League of Their Own’ finally made it’s way onto our screens. Season 2 has really lived up to my expectations and this episode was no different. Hilda’s Cemetery club, the whole Betty / Henry situation and Christina’s underwear fitting session all added up to another great hour of Bettyness! On the subject of Christina, looks like the ball has started rolling with her husband storyline. I hope this means we see a bit more of her on our screens, she always seem to have some of the best lines.

Ashley Jensen Interview

Christina, or should I say Ashley Jensen, was Becki & Michael’s special guest this week for the official podcast. I have sorted out the server and have now updated the podcasts section with ALL the podcasts, from the first to the last. If you’ve never listened to them before, you are really missing out! They are absolutely hilarious, and great for the latest gossip. So….

CHECK OUT THE PODCASTS >>>

In the last bit of Ashley related news before I move on, she recently completed a Q&A with Variety magazine, which you can read online here. Here’s a snippet to whet your appetite..

What book do you hope never gets adapted?
“Roget’s Thesauraus,” ‘cos it would be boring.

Last film I saw:
“The Bourne Ultimatum”

Who do you think is the best actor/actress in Hollywood at the moment?
Jeremy Piven and Maggie Gyllenhaall.

I have also updated the Fanmade Video Gallery, [which can be found in the Interact section. Don’t forget to send me links to your favorite videos!] with the AMAZING new video from Ugly Betty video master, Manny! A few months ago he posted the ‘Ugly Betty Mega Mix’ and has now followed it up with ‘Ugly Liar’ featuring Betty & WIlhelmina as Shakira & Beyonce. They are truly great, so be sure to check it out. I am not the only fan though, his original video was enjoyed so much by the Ugly Betty studio, it managed to get him a visit to the set! [Still VERY jealous about that, by the way! Haha!] Manny himself will let you in to ALL the details here, exclusively on Betty a la Mode in the future.

Remember the news that death will be ‘enveloping’ a series regular? Well, after myself and others wondering if this means the actual character or someone related to them, our affiliate TV Guide clears it up for us.

Question: The stench of death is going to envelop someone on Ugly Betty?! Does that mean a main character’s going to die, or is it someone a main character knows? —Caitlin

Ausiello: A series regular will die before the year is out.

Oh. My. Goodness! Who do you think it’ll be? My bets are on Bradford. His story arc has kinda ended and we rarely see him anyway. I think there would be an outrage if Marc got hit by a bus, or Amanda fell off a cliff anyway! We’ll see what happens….

Eric Mabius Nature of the Beast

Did you catch Eric starring in ABC’s ‘Nature of the Beast’ last weekend? Sadly I didn’t [due to living in the UK!], so was it any good? However good it was, it meant Eric got an interview with TVGuide.com which is always good to hear! As well as the movie, he speaks quite a lot about Ugly Betty, which you can read here >>> See an excerpt below…

TVGuide.com: Just like Daniel Meade. Sometimes he’s helping Betty or reconciling family relationships, then sometimes he’s… a cad.
Mabius: Which is why I have such a good time playing him. He’s doing his best but he’s falling short in a lot of respects. And I feel like I have a dream job to that extent because I’m not going to be stuck playing a cop looking at gruesome murder scenes for X number of years. I get to do broad comedy, drama, romance and slapstick…. It’s just amazing, it really is.

TVGuide.com: Lately it seems Daniel has turned over a new leaf of responsibility. Is that going to continue?
Mabius: What the writers always achieve is an unrealistic world to a great extent, but the interactions — the people — aren’t. As in life, we take one step forward and 10 steps back. I mean, I think he’s going to grow up a lot but he’s not going to grow up too much.

America has recently been quoted talking about her, and other’s, ‘curvy’ fugures.

America Ferrera, the star of the TV series “Ugly Betty”, says she is curvy but doesn’t like the term being used to describe women in Hollywood.

“There’s just way too much attention placed on the way we look. I think it’s hilarious when people call Jessica Alba or Eva Longoria curvy. Come on – they’re not curvy. I’m curvy,” she was quoted as saying by ananova.com.

She added: “What is normal now? Is it normal to be size zero? Starving yourself is not beautiful. I’ve been really lucky. Playing Betty has prepared me to be exactly who I am and not to change. If I’ve gained a pound or lost a pound, or have food in my teeth, it all works for the show.”

I totally agree, Eva is a beautiful woman, but definitely not curvy. Nice to hear ‘Betty’ has given her such a good outlook on her looks :)

Promo pictures for Episode 9, ‘Giving Up The Ghost’ have been released, and by the looks of things, it’ll be one of the Christmas episodes. ‘Lose The Boss’ was one of my favourite episodes of the first season so hopefully this will be just as good.

Episode 9 Promo Giving Up the Ghost

Episode 9 Promo Giving Up the Ghost

I recently bought the UK gossip magazine Heat for the interview with Mark Indelicato, and have uploaded the scans for you to enjoy. These can be found in Betty a La Mode’s new gallery which was created in collaboration with our sister site, Mode-Magazine.net. As always, please respect the fact that I purchased the magazine and then spent literally hours scanning and editing the images, and not pass them off as your own! Click the image below to access the full set. Enjoy…

Mark Indelicato Heat Magazine Interview Scan

Lastly, [Thankfully! This post has taken me hours!] here’s a lovely picture of Becki from the Hollywood Fashion Show. Becki always looks lovely at these kind of events and this is no exception. Click the image to access the full gallery.

Becki Newton

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for all the information! Just what I needed :)

Comment by migosch




Leave a Reply

