Betty a La Mode


Better Late Than Never
19 July, 2007, 3:54 pm
Filed under: News, Ugly Betty

anabadge.gifAfter the excitement of the baseball I completely forgot to write the post which I had planned for yesterday evening. Doh! Well, without further ado, here’s the news round up…

victoriabeckham_855_18216340_0_0_7002164_300.jpg+ Victoria Beckham has confirmed she is considering appearing on ‘Ugly Betty’ playing herself for 2 episodes. She will reportedly be being paid $140000 for her ‘acting abilities’! I think this is going to be good, usually musicians & acting do not mix [Hello Madonna!] but as she is playing herself, how can she go wrong? [Source]

+ In a bit of UK news, Alan Dale will be appearing in popular Dr Who spin-off show, ‘Torchwood’.He has been quoted saying:

“I am thrilled to be working on Torchwood – I am a huge fan of British television drama.”

I’m not a huge fan of the show but I have watched a few episodes! I will try to record the episodes when they appear on TV. [Source]

0200733019000.jpg+ Looks like not everybody is a fan of ‘Ugly Betty’! ‘My Name Is Earl’ star Jaime Pressley spoke out saying that UB is full of double standards about appearance.

“They’re purposefully big-upping the ugly fat girl to make everybody feel great, but it also glamourises the fact that people are getting plastic surgery because they can. It’s really bizarre.”

She says she now no longer watches it because “It bores the hell out of me.” In my opinion I do not think UB glamourises plastic surgery, if anything it shows you the dangers! [Remember Wilhelmina at Fashion Week?!] Oh well, one less viewer won’t hurt. [Source]

+ And now, as Vanessa once sang, I have saved the best for last! [Haha, that was so chessy!] The Emmy nominations have been announced and UB has….

…drumroll…

11 EMMY NOMINATIONS!

This is great news! I hope they win them all, haha! They are up for some bigs ones too, such as ‘Outstanding Comedy Series’ so best of luck to them. The full list of nominations can be found here

That’s the end of the news, quite a good little selection!

I have been in such an Ugly Betty mood recently, I relistened to all the podcasts and have started watching it from the beginning again. So many memories, haha! Season 2 can not come soon enough…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Victoria Beckham could be fun. I hope they would mention that she picked an “ugly” assistant for David after Rebecca Loos. ;)

Comment by djg




Leave a Reply

